All About Arizona Hit-and-Run Laws

All About Arizona Hit-and-Run Laws

Defined as a crash where at least one of the parties involved flees the scene, a hit-and-run accident is often devastating. Across the country, hit-and-run accidents are on the rise. Hit-and-run crashes involving fatalities are also up, according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.

In 2015 alone, there were an estimated 737,100 hit-and-run crashes nationwide, meaning that a hit-and-run crash happens somewhere in the country every 43 seconds. The 2,049 fatalities from hit-and-run crashes in 2016 were the highest number ever recorded.

If you’ve sustained injuries in a hit-and-run accident in Arizona, contact the Phoenix auto accident attorneys at ELG Law. Our team of accident lawyers is here to help. Though these accidents can’t always be avoided, knowing the common causes of these hit-and-run collisions can help you stay aware and prepared when you’re on the road.

Increased Penalties

Increased penalties for traffic violations, especially DUI, may be to blame in many hit-and-run accidents. If a driver is impaired when they’re involved in a crash, even if they’re not at fault, they are more likely to flee the scene to avoid penalty.

This is especially true regarding commercial vehicles. For commercial vehicle and large truck drivers, the consequences for DUI are even more severe. In Arizona, commercial truck drivers with a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.04% or more are subject to license suspension for up to 360 days and jail time, as well as costly fines. 

Illegal Driving

If a driver is on the road illegally, they are more likely to leave the scene of an accident. This may mean that the driver is operating their vehicle without a valid license or without car insurance coverage.

Furthermore, the driver may be in the country illegally or have an active arrest warrant. If a driver is attempting to avoid police, they are more likely to leave the scene, especially large truck drivers who will lose their jobs as a result.

Accident Trauma

In rare instances, a driver could sustain head trauma in the auto accident, which causes disorientation. Disoriented drivers may leave the scene to seek medical attention. Furthermore, hit-and-run drivers may not realize that another driver has been involved in an accident.

However, Arizona has enacted new penalties for those found guilty of hit-and-run to confront the problem. These penalties institute license suspensions depending on the outcome of the crash. If the accident only involved vehicle damage, for example, a hit-and-run driver loses their license for one year. If there was a fatality, the hit-and-run driver loses their license for 10 years.

Accident Attorneys in Phoenix

Victims of hit-and-run accidents often feel helpless or left with few options for legal recourse. 

If you’ve sustained injuries from a hit-and-run accident, you should contact a lawyer immediately. Our Phoenix accident attorneys at ELG Law have years of experience when it comes to fighting for victims and their families. Call us at (623) 562-3838 for a free consultation and legal representation today.