What Happens if You Don’t Have Insurance In Arizona?
When you buy a car in Arizona and you have insurance typically your insurance provider would contact the Arizona Motor Vehicle Division to inform them that you are covered. Despite this, you should still be proactive and make sure that the insurance you have is valid and active. After an accident in Arizona, when determining which insurance provider is responsible to pay for damages, the state’s tort legal system indicates that fault must be found. Depending on the situation, liability can be put on one or multiple parties involved in an accident.
The comparative negligence system that Arizona follows explains that any party in an accident can still recover a portion of the settlement as long as they were not 100% at-fault. If if the party that hit you was found accountable for causing 95% of the accident they can still stand to recover 5% of the final settlement amount. Speaking with an Arizona automobile accident attorney about your accident experience is a good way to learn about your legal rights and if you have the ability to obtain a settlement after your accident.
What are the Mandatory Insurance Requirements in Arizona?
Arizona mandates that all personal vehicles are covered by both bodily injury insurance and property damage insurance. Bodily injury liability coverage is $15,000/$30,000 while property damage liability is $10,000. Comprehensive coverage will help pay for damages that are not related to an accident such as if your vehicle caught on fire or sustained damages after being broken into. Typically, this coverage will come with a deductible, which is the amount of money the policyholder must pay out-of-pocket first before the insurance kicks in and takes over the payment for the expenses.
There are certain vehicles which are more prone to theft, these include:
- Honda Accord
- Honda Civic
- Full-sized Chevy pickup
- Full-sized Ford pickup
- Full-sized Dodge pickup
- Nissan Altima
- Nissan Sentra
- Toyota Camry
- Jeep Cherokee/Grand Cherokee
- Nissan Maxima
If you are pulled over by the police, when the police come to an automobile accident scene, or if you experience a period of time that you do not have insurance, you will have to provide proof of insurance. Documents that can be used as proof include your insurance ID card, a copy of your policy, or a certificate of self-insurance for those parties that this is applicable. Generally, companies that have many vehicles, more than 10 and certain individuals can be self-insured.
What Happens if You Cannot Show Proof of Insurance?
If you were driving and required to produce proof of insurance but you were unable, you will face fines as well as other punitive measures. These include:
- Fines that can be upwards of over $1,000 with additional fees on top of the fine for repeat offenders
- Suspension of driver’s license and plates for a minimum of 3 months to one year for those who have been in violation three times
- Submission of an Arizona SR-22 form in addition to paying reinstatement fees for three years
If you were in an accident in Arizona, it is crucial you speak with an Arizona serious injury attorneys at ELG. Call the Phoenix personal injury attorneys at ELG today at (623) 877-3600 to schedule your free consultation.